Making a DSU from scratch for an orphan DCS100

Discuss older Nikon-based Kodak digital SLRs, including DCS 100, DCS 200, NC2000, DCS 400/600/700-series, etc. Ask questions, post general comments, anecdotes, reviews and user tips.
pieroc91
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 3:43 pm
antispam: No

Re: Making a DSU from scratch for an orphan DCS100

Post by pieroc91 » Sun Oct 28, 2018 6:40 pm

Well it's been a slow week since i'm rewriting all the code since it was a mess and it didn't worked anymore.

recoding was going nice till i tryed to turn on the back.

nothing worked, tested lots of stuff and it didn't worked, on the last test while programming a new code onto the FPGA the poor DCS bursted in white smoke... A LOT OF IT...

Image

So well.. f**kin caps... till i recap the winder depelopment will be stuck for some days and hopefully it will solve some problems i was having

Stan Disbrow
Posts: 557
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 7:33 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC USA

Re: Making a DSU from scratch for an orphan DCS100

Post by Stan Disbrow » Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:27 am

Hi,

I refer to that as: Crapped Caps. Most common malady of electronics. :(

Stan
Amateur Photographer
Professional Electronics Development Engineer

pieroc91
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 3:43 pm
antispam: No

Re: Making a DSU from scratch for an orphan DCS100

Post by pieroc91 » Mon Oct 29, 2018 1:42 pm

Hi Stan, yes... i work a lot with vintage HI-Fi, and capacitors are a plague even had unrecoverable devices due to corrosion from leaking capacitors, but tantalums failing... this is new to me

Stan Disbrow
Posts: 557
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 7:33 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC USA

Re: Making a DSU from scratch for an orphan DCS100

Post by Stan Disbrow » Mon Oct 29, 2018 9:23 pm

Hi,

I have seen many tantalum caps crap. They like to alter their Effective Series Resistance, which means they don't show physical signs and even measure capacitance ok. But, aren't ok. Sometimes they smoke, and sometimes they just make whatever they are in work wonky.

Like all other electronic parts there are ones which never crap out, and some which seemingly always crap out. All depends on the supplier coupled with what the item producer decided they could live with. That usually equals cost. But, I have had some suppliers find themselves hard pressed to supply the high-end we wanted, in the quantity we wanted, and fill-in (so to speak). I hate it when that happens!

I recently had a ham come over with an older radio which worked. Most of the time. But, it would take it upon it self to do weird things at times. Mostly in the control circuitry. Sudden frequency shifting, volume running all the way up or down, things like that. Lots of tantalum caps. Some good, most going. Time to 'shotgun' all of them out of there. Not that he felt the rig was worth that.

Stan
Amateur Photographer
Professional Electronics Development Engineer

pieroc91
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 3:43 pm
antispam: No

Re: Making a DSU from scratch for an orphan DCS100

Post by pieroc91 » Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:27 pm

Hi Stan, for this i want to add a small 128x64 OLED display, designed for arduino mostly, it's i2c, do you think it's worth the effort to code it or i just use an arduino as display controller and feed the data from the fpga in a simpler way, also i will be saving the FPGA memory for the real stuff

Stan Disbrow
Posts: 557
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 7:33 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC USA

Re: Making a DSU from scratch for an orphan DCS100

Post by Stan Disbrow » Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:19 pm

Hi,

I think using a secondary controller for, well, secondary, tasks makes good sense. :)

Stan
Amateur Photographer
Professional Electronics Development Engineer

pieroc91
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 3:43 pm
antispam: No

Re: Making a DSU from scratch for an orphan DCS100

Post by pieroc91 » Thu Nov 01, 2018 8:36 pm

nuff said... this weekend i recap the winder and start working on the display with the arduino

pieroc91
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 3:43 pm
antispam: No

Re: Making a DSU from scratch for an orphan DCS100

Post by pieroc91 » Tue Dec 04, 2018 1:39 pm

Well this is going slooow, i found that my level shifters can't deal with real data or clock speeds, so i ordered new and better ones from the states.. they'll be arriving in a few days, i hope... also comunicating with the display seemed imposible, probably due to the level shifters.

pieroc91
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 3:43 pm
antispam: No

Re: Making a DSU from scratch for an orphan DCS100

Post by pieroc91 » Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:20 pm

Well, the level shifter arrived, but they are so small that i'm soldering to a breadboard in order to be able to use them and is quite a job... maybe next week will be news about it

Post Reply